Rooftop – Where India Inspires Creativity

Learn Indian art online

UGC New Initiatives Aim to Promote Indian Heritage and Cultural Education

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India is taking significant steps to promote and preserve the rich cultural heritage of the country. In addition to inviting artists and experts from non-academic fields to teach in universities, the UGC has now directed universities to offer certificate courses focusing on Indian heritage and culture. These courses aim to disseminate knowledge about various aspects of Indian traditions, languages, arts, and more. Let’s explore the details of these initiatives and their impact on promoting Indian heritage.

UGC Certificate Courses on Indian Heritage and Culture

The UGC’s latest guidelines urge universities to develop short-term multi-tier credit-based modular programs that revolve around Indian heritage and culture. These courses provide multiple entry and exit points, catering to the diverse interests of learners from abroad who wish to explore India’s rich cultural tapestry. The course content encompasses a wide range of subjects, including universal human values, Vedic Maths, Yoga, Ayurveda, Sanskrit, Indian languages, and even sacred religious regions.

Comprehensive Learning Opportunities

The guidelines emphasize the importance of imparting knowledge about India’s archaeological sites, monuments, literature, sculpture, music, dance forms, drama, visual arts, performing arts, and the Indian knowledge system. To facilitate effective learning experiences, the UGC has identified 46 tentative areas in which universities can offer these courses. This comprehensive approach allows learners to delve into various aspects of Indian culture, including ethics, music, dance, folklore, manuscripts, astrology, rituals, and more. The inclusion of Indian languages and literature, such as Kannada, Pali, Prakrit, Sanskrit, Malayalam, and Bengali, further enhances the exploration of India’s linguistic heritage.

Diverse Levels of Learning

The courses are designed to accommodate learners at different levels of proficiency and knowledge. Based on the learning outcomes and curricular structure, universities can offer these courses at three distinct levels: introductory, intermediate, and advanced. This allows individuals from any country with an interest in Indian heritage and knowledge systems to enroll and acquire in-depth knowledge. The UGC gives universities the freedom to determine specific eligibility conditions for these programs.

Preserving and Promoting Indian Heritage

The UGC’s initiatives not only facilitate the dissemination of knowledge but also play a vital role in preserving and promoting India’s rich cultural heritage. By encouraging universities to incorporate Indian Knowledge Systems (IKS) into higher education curricula and offering specialized certificate courses, the UGC is nurturing a deep appreciation for Indian traditions among learners. These efforts contribute to cultural awareness, global engagement, and the preservation of India’s invaluable heritage.


The UGC’s recent initiatives, including inviting artists and experts from non-academic fields and offering certificate courses on Indian heritage and culture, reflect a strong commitment to preserving and promoting India’s cultural richness. By providing diverse learning opportunities and fostering global engagement, these initiatives create a deeper understanding and appreciation of India’s cultural heritage among learners worldwide.

Related Posts