Devi Durga is a manifestation of Shakti and consort of Lord Shiva. She is a primordial source of unseen energy that maintains and sustains the Universe. In all her avatars, she is a goddess of strength and power. She embodies the essence of salvation and sacrifice in all her forms as the Divine Mother. 

Navratri, a nine-day festival celebrating and honouring the nine forms of Devi Durga, has become the most important festival in the Hindu calendar. With Rooftop, let us understand the significance of the 9 colours of Navratri associated with the nine manifestations of Devi Durga.

Day 01- Orange

On the first day of Navratri, Hindu devotees dress in orange and pay homage to Goddess Shailputri. The striking hue of orange symbolises warmth, energy and fearlessness. 

As we mix the two primary colours, red and yellow, we get orange. Carrots and orange peels are naturally dried to produce orange dyes. 

Day 02- White

The second day of Navratri is dedicated to the second avatar of Devi Durga- Devi Brahmacharini. The colour associated with this day is white, which stands for purity, innocence and peace. Among 9 colours of Navratri white is one.

White dyes are naturally obtained from white lime and crushed rice powder. 

Day 03- Red

We worship the third form of Devi Durga – Devi Chandraghanta on the third day of Navratri. The colour red represents beauty, valour and fearlessness. Devotees dress in red on this day and pay their homage to Devi.

Red is a primary colour in the colour spectrum. Dried leaves of sorghum and red calico are used to naturally extract the colour red. 

Day 04- Royal Blue

Royal Blue is a favourite colour of Goddess Kushmanda, the fourth form of Devi Durga. She ends all evil and darkness with her divine smile. It is tradition to worship her wearing royal blue clothing during Navratri. She bestows strength, wealth, and good health upon her devotees.

Blue is one of the primary colours. The natural extraction of indigo gives the colour blue.

Day 05- Yellow

We worship Devi Skandamata, the fifth form of Devi Durga. To please her during Panchami puja, devotees arrange yellow flowers. 

Yellow is the third primary colour. Crushing dry turmeric and pollen of flowers gives us yellow.

Day 06- Green

Goddess Katyayani, the sixth form, bestows harmony and serenity to her devotees. She prefers the colour green. She ensures marital harmony and peace.

Two primary colours, blue and yellow, mix together to produce green. Green denotes fertility, growth and harmony. We get vibrant greens by boiling Indigo with pomegranate peels, alum and haldi.

Day 07- Grey

On the seventh day of Navratri, we worship Goddess Kalaratri. She represents Maa Durga in her most ferocious form. The colour of the day is grey. Goddess Kalaratri removes darkness from the world.  

Mixing charcoal with white lime gives the colour grey. This colour represents the balance of emotions.

Day 08 – Purple

Purple symbolizes intelligence and peace. On the day of Ashtami, devotees worship Goddess Mahagauri – the eighth avatar of Goddess Durga.

Red and blue combine to create this vibrant, exciting colour of purple. Due to its elegant shade, purple signifies royalty and dignity. We get purple by boiling pea flowers and mixing them with lime juice.

Day 09- Peacock Green

Peacock green represents the fulfilment of wishes. This day is dedicated to Goddess Siddhidhatri, the ninth form of Devi Durga. The nine-day festival ends on Navami. The festival concludes with Vijayadashami or Dussehra on the tenth day. It symbolizes the triumph of good over evil on Dussehra.

Peacock green is known for its uniqueness and individuality. We get this colour by mixing up yellow and royal blue with a dash of purple.

Apart from celebrating Goddess Durga as a divine power, we can see her presence in Indian artworks. We can find her in the masterpieces of great artists. Artists portray her as a mother slaying evils and establishing harmony in nature. 

Artists like Raja Ravi Verma, Abanindranath Tagore, Nandalal Bose, and Jamini Roy drew Durga paintings to showcase the power of females as a creator of the Universe. The 9 colours of Navratri change each year .

To know more about Indian art forms, join us on Instagram @rooftop_app for all the latest updates and download the Rooftop app available for both iOS and Android devices.